Reviews


We are proud of what we do and are happy to share our reviews with you. Please find a selection below, for the full list of reviews please visit our page at Tripadvisor here! Here are the latest reviews:

Reviewed 13 December 2016
Had a birthday celebration meal last Saturday. Ambience,decor and staff all very good.Pleasant atmosphere and made to feel very welcome.Good varied menu, my wife had duck really very good, my fillet steak was the best I have ever had, succulent, tasty and perfectly matched to the sauce. All of high quality even down to the cutlery and napkins. Will go again , perfect for a special occasion.
Reviewed 21 November 2016
A lovely meal with friends! We would certainly come here again. Beautiful and delicious food – simply done beautifully cooked.
Reviewed 13 November 2016
We live in London and were unsure of what to expect in the way of local cuisine when we visited Exmouth. Of course we knew we’d get deliciously fresh seafood but what we did not anticipate was a restaurant of this quality. Every single course was cooked to total perfection, and some parts were really astonishingly good. The duck breast main in particular shows cooking of a standard you’d associate with some of the finest dining anywhere in the world. I’d give this place six stars if I could.
Reviewed 31 October 2016
We had a wonderful dinner and evening at Les saveurs on Saturday night during a lovely week-end stay in Exmouth. We came across the restaurant on the web and, having read very good reviews, we were not disappointed in the least. The food was wonderful: fresh ingredients, well balanced taste, very good traditional French cooking and everything one could hope for on the menu. Excellent without being pretentious. In addition, the atmosphere of the place was absolutely spot on: well presented, personal, family-run, cosy and warm, and at same time totally professional. I will definitely go there again next time we’re in the area. Highly recommended!
Reviewed 28 October 2016
We had a superb family meal here, superb food, reasonably priced wine and magnificent friendly service. We tried a range of starters, main courses and desserts, all worth every penny. We live in London and travel widely and we all agreed it was one of the tastiest meals we’d ever had.
5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 October 2016
Wonderful experience. Warm atmosphere, attentive service and first class banquet. Highly recommended.
5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 September 2016
Its not suprising that Les Saveurs is the number one restaraunt in Exmouth. Visited this evening following a quick check on Trip Advisor, wasn’t disappointed. The starter was excellent and the Lamb was the best we have ever tasted. Excellent service and reasonably priced. Well deserving of it’s many awards. We will definitely be back!
5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 September 2016
My husband and I visited last month for the first time and fell in love with the place. Quality ingredients cooked to perfection. Friendly helpful staff and very knowledgeable about his gins! Beautiful layout, very quaint. Would definitely go again if in the area!
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2016
I spent my birthday here last night . The atmosphere was spot on, the service relaxed and professional and the food was tremendous!! If I could I would be back every night just for those tasty scallops and dessert 🙂
Reviewed 16 August 2016
We have just had our wedding lunch here, when they opened especially for our special occasion. Having been there before it was definite where we wanted to spend our special day….and special the staff made it. The food is properly fresh with the fish coming from the local waters rather than the farms. The food is so tasty, no wonder as the chef visits egypt especially to buy his custom mixed curry powder. This is the extent the family go to to make sure every dish tastes perfect. Olivier the chef is ‘always’ there, so you are assured top chef fayre. The staff are lovely and fuss over you without intruding and the ambience is classy and rustic. They deserve all the awards that adorn their walls. And its NOT overpriced for what you get. Though luckily we live locally it is worth travelling to. Long may they continue.
Reviewed 18 July 2016
I just love this place. Friendly, intimate ambience. Nothing is too much trouble. Real linen, beautuful silverware. I have been twice in the past month. I had the herb crusted lamb which was mouth wateringly tender. Cooked to perfection. My partner had the duck which again was faultless. Consistently perfect. And very good value for the quality of produce. This is our favourite restaurant in Exmouth.
Reviewed 3 July 2016
We read the report in a local magazine that had just voted Les Saveurs the top restaurant in the area and thought it would be worth a try. We were NOT disappointed! A short train journey from Exeter we found the restaurant in a quiet back street just off the main drag and were immediately greeted by a really welcoming member of staff and we then enjoyed one of the best meals we have had in a local restaurant for some time.
The menu was not extensive, however had plenty of sensible contrasting choice – enough to satisfy two adults, our 28 year old son and 12 year old daughter. The fish on the menu was exceptionally fresh, locally caught and prepared magnificently. Our daughter’s steak was also superb. A good wine list accompanied the menu and was able to cater for all tastes.
Overall we had an wonderful evening, with exceptional food and first class service.
The chef is a talented man who is supported brilliantly by his wife and son in front of house and we will definitely be back. A great place for a great evening.
 Reviewed 27 June 2016
This was my third visit to this small family run restaurant and once again I wasn’t disappointed.
Both the food and the front of house service was excellent. The goats cheese tartlet, fresh fish and home made waffles with caramel sauce were delightful.
The restaurant now excels in its variety of gins and I was introduced to a few gins, I had never tasted. Thank you Patrick for both your knowledge and recommendations. You certainly know your gins!
It was lovely to see a small restaurant, investing in local young people, teaching them skills first hand, ensuring that the high standard front of house would continue, both here and elsewhere..
Reviewed 23 June 2016
Every thing about the restaraunt was excellent, there was 5 of us & every one was over the moon with the standard of the food. It was the best food I have ever had, the service was excellent, we took my uncle who was unwell & they were amazing with him. They didnt rush us & made us feel totaly relaxed. In fact we are back in exmouth & may even visit twice . Please give them a try you will not be disappointed.
Reviewed 14 June 2016
Tucked away in a side street is this fantastic little restaurant, where i had one of the best meals I have had for some time. We were greeted by a lovely young lady who showed us to our table. The menu looked fantastic and we weren’t disappointed. Scallops that melted in your mouth and the fish curry was exquisite. The waiter (who turned out to be the owners/chef’s son) was also excellent with his customer service and took time to talk to us about the dishes and where the spices had come from. It’s not often I’ll have a dessert but the starter and main were so good it would have been rude not to. It’s a lovely cosy restaurant and perfect for couples. I would definitely recommend this restaurant and I hope we can return when we are next in the area.
Reviewed 5 June 2016
What a gem of a chance discovery thanks to TripAdvisor ! Stumbled on this fantastic restaurant by chance – what a find. Staff perfect, even the trainee! 3 courses of perfection and the bill was not too frightening despite the Champagne ! Scallops and Goats cheese to start, followed by Pork & the Fillet – perfect. Waffle and cheese board – delightful.
5 of 5 starsReviewed 1 June 2016
We could not have asked for anything more in terms of customer experience – from the attentiveness of staff, to the incredibly delicious and fresh food to the fantastic value we received. Every bite of each course was exquisite. In our travels throughout Europe rarely have we come across such a gem of a restaurant. Thank you Sheila and Olivier.
Reviewed 22 May 2016
I was very fortunate last year to eat dinner at El Celler de Can Roca in Spain. Well I can honestly say our meal last night at Les Saveurs was more enjoyable, the level of service better and the food was of a better standard. A little gem in the back streets of Exmouth…..simply incredible!!! I can’t stop smiling!
Reviewed 12 May 2016
Went to this restaurant for a meal with a good friend and it was the best meal ever – fish soup better than the oyster bar in new York. Brill with nettle sauce and artichoke mash outstanding and don’t get me started on pistachio crème brullee – just gorgeous. the maître de was the son of the chef and he could not have been more efficient or more welcoming – they dive for their own scallops – how good is that. there was even a children’s menu that was geared to lighter palates but alas I did not have my granddaughter with me. cannot recommend this eatery too highly
Excellent
Reviewed 5 May 2016
Dinner was excellent. As was the wine and the cheese. We can recommend the lamb and scallops. Staff is friendly and professional.
Reviewed 3 May 2016
Les Sauveurs is undoubtable the finest restaurant in Exmouth. Located in a quiet back street it is literally off the radar. Superb food accompanied by fine wines and extra special service makes for a truly memorable dining experience

Great Restaurant
Reviewed 30. April2016
Les Saveurs is a fantastic restaurant. I have been with my family on several occasions and always have great food. Would recommend to anyone looking for something special.

A CHEF IN OLIVER WHO GETS FISH
Reviewed 21 April 2016
A happy family run restaurant with a mega star in the kitchen who knows about freshness, flavour, seasonality, seasoning with a modern simplistic touch. The end result ,served with style, might look simple and unflustered, but it is cooking of a higher order, simply stunning. Exmouth use this place, shout about it and keep it full.

Outstanding, a must in Exmouth
Reviewed 1 April 2016
We have just returned from a wonderful meal in Les Saveurs and I cannot recommend it enough! From start to finish this was a wonderful experience.
We were greeted and shown to our table having booked in advance. The service was fast, helpful and friendly. We opted for different dishes and would throughly recommend them all! I loved the fish soup, with its diy cheese, croutons and sauce so I could assemble it as I wished (and my croutons of course did not go soggy!) Also for me the cod was outstanding. The fish was beautiful and really beautifully cooked. The sauce was delicate, not drowning the flavour and I loved the presentation and especially the accompanying veg.
Having enjoyed the meal so much we all had different desserts, each of us recommending the brioche bread and butter pudding, the creme brûlée and personally I very much enjoyed the Tart Tartin.
All in all, this is a wonderful little place, outstanding food, excellent and friendly service, lovely decor, nice toilets too. Our meal for three people, three courses with drinks and coffee was very reasonable. I couldn’t ask for more, can’t wait to return.

Not as expected.
Reviewed 23 March 2016
First visit to Exmouth so checked Tripadvisor and was impressed by the reviews for Les Saveurs, hence the booking. Our expectations were high but have to say the experience was not as expected. It was better! Warm welcome and attentive service was much appreciated. Nice wine list with reasonable prices. Food was superb – possible the nicest steak I have tasted. Fish dish very accomplished and the depth of flavour in the sauces of each dish was very impressive. A busy restaurant, even on a mid-week day in March so I recommend that you book in advance. Big thank you to Paddy (hope got name right) for the high level of service.

Superb as always
Reviewed 5 March 2016
A lovely warm restaurant on a cold evening with excellent food, wine, service and atmosphere. Even the bread was first class. Both of our fish dishes were cooked perfectly and the cod was so delicate. You can see why this place is number one. A family run restaurant by people that know their stuff. We will be back. Thank you.

“Valentines’ day meal”
Reviewed 16 February 2016
We enjoyed a lovely meal at Les Saveurs. Friendly and attentive service accompanied by delicious food and an opportunity to speak to the chef afterwards – highly recommended!

“This is how food should be cooked”
Reviewed 15 February 2016
My girlfriend and I had an absolutely beautiful meal on Valentines Day. Atmosphere was excellent, service was perfect and the food was out of this world. No doubt about it, we will most definitely be going back very soon. Has to be the best restuarant i have visited in Devon. Thank you very much Les Saveurs

“Excellent Food in a Family Atmosphere”
Reviewed 9 February 2016
Do not judge this super little restaurant by the small exterior, when you get inside you will be delighted by the friendly welcome by this family run business.

The food looked good and tasted even better, we enjoyed a mixture of fish based starters and a cheese tartlet, followed by lamb, all bursting with fresh flavour, and delivered with attentive service throughout. All the dishes going to other diners on nearby tables looked just as tempting. Looking forward to the next meal at Les Saveurs !

“A very special evening”
Reviewed 4 January 2016
The food at Les Saveurs was excellent. My husband had the scallops to start and I had the Mussels mmmmm delicious. Mains consisted of Herb crusted Lamb for him and Breast of Duck for me with jus to die for. Husband and I always share a dessert and sometimes the Cheese Board but this evening we could only manage the Chocolate Delice served with clotted cream. To clear the palate a Lemonchello. Our shared love of food takes us on many a journey to experience a variety of cuisines and restaurants including our kitchen at home, Les Saveurs Restaurant definitely has our recommendation. A very enjoyable evening.

“Xmas lunch just wonderful!”
Reviewed 26 December 2015 via mobile
We have visited Les Saveurs 3-4 times and each time the food has always been consistently superb. Therefor we decided to try for christmas lunch (the first time we have eaten out and not cooked at home)
The food again was fantastic and great value for the money! All 3 courses were perfectly cooked and a great atmosphere.
Olivier always takes the time to come and speak to us and his passion for food is wonderful!
We will be back for sure – one of our favourites we can highly recommend.

“Fresh seafood, great chef”
Reviewed 17 December 2015
Love that the chef literally sources most of his own seafood. Great cooking, enjoyable and relaxed environment. Shame we haven’t been able to go there more often.

“Best In East Devon”
Reviewed 15 December 2015 via mobile
This is probably the best restaurant in East Devon. The food is delicious and the staff knowledgeable and friendly. It may not be the cheapest food you can find in the area but I’d rather have quality over quantity any day.

“Jewel”
Reviewed 6 December 2015
Had an absolutely wonderful night here last night with friends who have been before, it was our first time & boy what a treat it was…food was to die for & the chief Olivia sourced our muscles & sea bass locally, his wife Sheila was equally hospitable with great service, the two of them sat with us after our meal & talked with great passion about there restaurant & we can certainly recommend this jewel in Exmouth…Tracey & Kev Hull

“Friends night out ”
Reviewed 6 December 2015
Excellent meal. Perfect night out, lovely family run place Very friendly. Highly recommend. Top Devon restaurant in Exmouth. Mike and Gill

Beautiful meal!
Reviewed 29 November 2015
My boyfriend and I have wandered past Les Saveurs hundreds of times and finally had an opportunity to go.
It’s lovely inside – classy but not uncomfortable! There was a very loud table at one point but there’s not much that can be done about that!
The staff were very attentive but at the right times – you never felt they were interrupting your meal.
The food was incredible – we had the prawns & scallops to start. Lamb and cod for mains and snow eggs and creme brûlée to finish. The gin was lovely too!

Really recommend it and can’t wait to go back.

“Incredible food, exceptional service, decorative toilets!”
Reviewed 29 November 2015
Perfect timing – pacey without being forceful. Gourmet dining – outstanding limited, locally sourced menu with something for everyone. Elegantly served. Accommodated a big group brilliantly. We’ll be back.

“Fabulous food -lived up to our expectations.”
Reviewed 14 November 2015
A lovely meal out with friends. We had wanted to visit for a long time and were not disappointed when we finally got there. The pigeon starter was heavenly, the fish dishes were delightful, and the desserts were well worth making room for. All totally delicious. Fabulous staff too, attentive but discreet. Definitely need to revisit soon!

“Perfect Pigeon and Pear”
Reviewed 20 October 2015
I found the restaurant through others’ reviews and was very impressed by the menu and comments left . They were fully deserved , I was totally knocked out by the excellence of my experience here.
The staff took great care without being intrusive and immediately we felt very comfortable. I had local pigeon in black truffle sauce and it was the best I have ever had. It was tender, full of flavour and beautifully presented. I had mullet and bass with the most unsullied fresh tomato sauce that was so delicate , Olivier has a wonderful touch that just informs everything he sends out . The fish he probably caught himself as I overheard later when he was chatting to diners that he liked to catch his own ,so one can guess that the care of his produce begins right at source and so it underpins his wonderful dishes.Just when I thought it couldn’t get any better ,I unusually ordered a pudding as I just couldn’t pass up the opportunity and I it is an understatement to say I enjoyed poached pear with a salted caramel cream , brittle and ice cream that tasted like something eaten by the gods. I seriously am planning a trip back to Exmouth (a long way from home ) just to visit the restaurant again and it will be marked in my special but short list of wonderful places to eat . We had three fantastic courses , wine and coffee at around £120 for two which was very good value for such wonderful food, but if you wanted to spend less it was perfectly possible to be more than satisfied with two courses( but you will be missing out !)
Thank you to all of you there, you are definitely very good for the soul as well as the body!

“Simply Delicious!”
Reviewed 10 November 2015
Took our daughter and son-in-law on a Friday evening in November. Restaurant is not large but was nicely full, good service and delightful staff. All of our courses were excellent and beautifully presented. Local mussels were fantastic, as were the freshly caught that morning fish dishes. My husband said he would be happy to have the fish soup every day! The chef, Oliver Guyard-Mulkerrin, is a larger than life character and knew our son-in-law, so he came and had a chat when service had finished which added to the enjoyment of the evening. The restaurant is only open in the evenings.

“Fabulous food -lived up to our expectations.”
Reviewed 14 November 2015
A lovely meal out with friends. We had wanted to visit for a long time and were not disappointed when we finally got there. The pigeon starter was heavenly, the fish dishes were delightful, and the desserts were well worth making room for. All totally delicious. Fabulous staff too, attentive but discreet. Definitely need to revisit soon!

“Top Nosh”
Reviewed 27 September 2015
Friend and I ate here on a Saturday evening. I had the Exmouth mussels for starters. Recently returned from France I had sampled many ‘moules et frites’ over the last month. But these little beauties were better than any of them. And the creamy sauce was just lovely. Both then had a monkfish special – a sauce with bacon, tomatoes and herbs. Served on a bed of cream potato and the freshest of vegetables cut into little spherical shapes. Lots of colour. And fish that melted in the mouth.
This is a traditional restaurant with friendly serving staff. A lovely selection of Devon cheese to round it all off.
It’s truly great food in a friendly ambience. You won’t find a lot better than this.

“Ultimate fine dining”
Reviewed 5 September 2015
First visit after reading the reviews food was absolutely amazing. presentation 10/10 friendly staff and very proud owner. This is on par with Michelin star eating and congratulations to them all for receiving their second rosette. You must try the Massaya red wine Wow!!
I had the Brill what a plate of delight the sauce was amazing will definitely return. top tip you have to book well in advance

“Beautiful and memorable experience”
Reviewed 20 August 2015
I used to live in Exmouth 21 years ago and how I wish this restaurant had been there!
My partner, myself and our 8 year old daughter had the most fantastic eating experience here. I say eating experience because it was the entire 360 experience that made it so pleasurable.
The seafood was as fresh as if it had been caught moments ago (infused with intense flavours and unpretentious presentation), the service was warm and friendly (we felt like we’d made friends for life!) and the atmosphere was relaxing and devoid of any stuffiness.
We live in London and rarely get the pleasure to eat somewhere as good as this. We are frequently disappointed by places that claim to be amazing. This place really is! If I lived in the West Country I would regularly travel to eat here.

“Anniversary Dinner”
Reviewed 8 June 2015
Visited on a Friday evening whilst in Exmouth for a short break, chose the hotel based on reviews posted on Trip Advisor and was not disappointed. The attention to detail, quality of food and attentive service were all excellent and although a little expensive was worth every penny. Would not hesitate to recommend this restaurant and would definitely visit again when in the area.

“Exceptional meal & service.”
Reviewed 5 June 2015
My husband came across this restaurant by chance as it is tucked down a quite side street but what a find. It is an amazing place & decorated beautifully. We were met at the door by the owners Son who was very friendly & welcoming. Once we’d had a chance to look at the menu we ordered our starter & main dishes. Both my husband & I had the chicken liver parfait to start which came with an onion marmalade & four or five pieces of Melba toast & was absolutely stunning, the best we’ve ever tasted. For our main dish I had the lamb which had a mustard & herb crust which was delicious & highly recommended. My husband had the sea bass which he said was equally delicious. For dessert my husband had creme brûlée which he said was lovely & I had cheese & biscuits. It was a thoroughly enjoyable evening & we will definitely be back when we are in the area again. Considering we had three courses each plus a drink it was very reasonably priced.

“Family meal”
Reviewed 31 May 2015
We were planning a trip to Devon from London to see family and decided we wanted a family meal, we did an online search and Les Saveurs came up as highly recommended. From the initial phone call explaing our plans, where due to numbers they offered us the function room, even recommending drinks on arrival to actually arriving the service was excellent. The meal itself was outstanding, even catering for two very fussy children. The meals were highly enjoyed by all present. The father and son are an excellent team. We will definitely be visiting again. Well done on providing Exmouth with a restaurant of outstanding high quality. Many thanks from the Pattersons.

Fantastic food
Reviewed 19 April 2015
We went here for a romantic meal on a Saturday night. The main restaurant was quiet as there was a party on upstairs but service was not compromised because of this. I had chicken liver parfait as a starter and it was the smoothest pate I’ve ever eaten – delicious! For main I had the special Brill which apparently was the dish Olivier won the first round of Marco Pierre White’s Kitchen Wars with and it was very deserving of a michelin star in a gorgeous nettle sauce with courgette and carrots that had been scooped to look like peas. The desserts were equally delicious but compared to the other courses perhaps less impressive. Being very picky we also felt a little disappointed that the coffee did not have any petit fours and the sugar came in paper sachets. At the end of the day it’s the sugar and it goes in your coffee but considering the standard of the meal it wasn’t on the same level.